“If you’re feeling froggy, jump!”

Way back in my memory, I recall this phrase from my softball years. My dad was on the coaching staff most years, and when he was assigned to be third base coach, this is what I would frequently hear. It was his way of telling us that he felt it was reasonable to try to go home, but that there wasn’t any pressure. It wasn’t a sure-thing, but we would be trusted to make our own decision without fear of reprisal if we didn’t make it. Most often, I jumped. I’m not sure what my success rate was, but I do remember one thing. The pure exhilaration of trying and knowing it was my decision to own, for good or bad. The thrill of success, and the disappointment of defeat; always knowing that my decision would be supported regardless of the outcome. Sure, it felt great when I scored a run when the coach was telling me to go home, but nothing beats that feeling of making the decision for yourself and getting the job done.

It sounds small, but isn’t that what life is made of? Small moments that define who you are, even when you think you’re just playing around. Life lessons disguised in a simple phrase. This, my dear readers, is why I homeschool. Because the small moments matter.

Welcome to my blog, I hope you find food for thought, or at least an occasional chuckle.

Let's Talk!

