College Prep

Ace High School

Ace during the summer before High School

I have a confession. I am terrified to get started with this year. I know it will be great. I know we will pull it off. I know that I am prone to this type of perfectionist self-doubt but that doesn’t make it less terrifying. Ace is starting his “High School” years and now it counts. I know, it all counts, but no college review board is going to look at what my 6 year old is doing this year. I have been determinedly not thinking about it, but now that lessons are about to begin, I have found myself frantically reviewing our plans, staying up late to look at the college admissions websites and scrutinizing each decision.

It’s almost like the first year we homeschooled. I was a wreck then too, trying to cover all the bases, fill in all the gaps, make sure there was nothing left out. Since then, I’ve realized it’s much easier than it felt like at the time and that relaxing and following the plan makes it all work out. I’ll try to heed that wisdom now.

5 responses to “College Prep

  1. I am terrified of the high school years too…and my oldest just started 8th grade, lol! Unfortunately, I’ve let family bring me down (they were all kinds of on board with homeschooling…until they started to get closer to high school, then it was a constant stream of “surely you’re not planning on STILL homeschooling…”), so when I could no longer deny that high school is approaching, I started to panic. πŸ™‚

    Our current curriculum only goes through 8th grade, so on top of starting high school, we are looking for brand new materials/resources. I’m glad that I’m finding blogs like yours, and online communities like LetsHomeschoolHighschool.com, to find information and encouragement. πŸ™‚

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog, and checking back to see how your year is going! Thanks for sharing!

    Katie

    • Katie,

      Thank you for your kind words. Don’t let the worriers get you down, High School is a great time for homeschooling! I have been amazed at how many resources I have found, and I can’t wait to check out the link you mentioned as well!

  2. We are starting 8th grade this year also. It is a scary time! Even today when she took an extra long time to complete work just because she wasn’t focused, I’m second guessing myself on whether I’m raising her to be a competent adult. Homeschooling is full of self imposed pressures.. And the nay sayers. If only they knew the stress we put on ourselves! πŸ™‚

    • That is so true! I have to constantly remind myself that my children will have good days and bad days, just like me. And I’m always on my guard for those internal pressures telling me negative things about myself. Sometimes we can be our own worst critics!

Let's Talk!

